School Governors


Westerton will retain its overall ‘outstanding’ categorisation and strive to ensure this measure applies to every aspect of the school’s responsibilities. 

In the next 4 years we will become one of the leading academies providing primary education in Leeds and a source of inspiration and assistance to other schools within our Leeds community of schools.

The role of the Governing Board

The Governing Board has three core strategic functions:

  • To set the vision and strategic direction of the academy.
  • To hold the Principal to account for the educational performance of the school.
  • To ensure that the financial resources of the academy are well spent.

Powers of the Governing Board

The Governing Board is recognised in law as a corporate body, which means it has a legal identity separate from that of its governors.

It also means that individual governors have no power or right to act on behalf of the Governing Board except where the whole Governing Board has delegated a specific duty to that individual. The Governing Board can also decide to delegate certain responsibilities to committees that it has established.

Governors will, therefore, take collective responsibility for the decisions reached by the Governing Board to publicly support decisions.


Governing Board membership 2018 – 2019

The full Governing Board consists of 18 governors

Steph Makin                       Principal

Tom Leadley                       Local authority governor

Stephanie Puissegur          Parent governor

David Hawley                      Parent governor

Angela Booth                       Staff governor (Vice Principal)


Co-opted Governors

Nicola Westle                      Martine Gape                       Leigh Dowd  

Alan Curry                           Tony Grayson                       Rob Hall

Susan Dawson                    Jeremy Whawell                        

Emma Park                         Alison Lazarus (Deputy Principal)


Governors with special responsibilities

Tony Grayson        Chair of Governors & Attendance

Alan Curry              Vice Chair & Health and Safety


There are three main committees which meet at least three times a year:

  • Teaching and Learning
  • Pupil Support
  • Resources

Governor Code of Conduct